Outdoor Writers Association of America awarded 12 Norm Strung Youth Writing prizes totaling $1,700, sponsored by the Safari Club International Foundation.

The annual contest has categories for poetry and prose in two divisions: junior (grades 6-8) and senior (grades 9-12), and entries must be outdoors oriented and previously published in a newsletter, newspaper, magazine, literary collection, or similar publication. First-place winners in all categories received $250, second-place winners received $125 and third-place winners received $50. This year’s winners are:

Junior Poetry

  • First place: “Where Poems Hide For Me” by Xander Barton (Bath, Maine)
  • Second place: “Phosphorescence” by Eloise Hart Kelly (Bremer, Maine)
  • Third place: “Time and I” by Helena Solorzano (Alna, Maine)

Senior Poetry

  • First place: “The Gulf” by Edyt Dickstein (Livingston, N.J.)
  • Second place: “Bristlecone Pine” by Kelly Clare (Traverse City, Mich.)
  • Third place: “Leaf” by Alexandra Palocz (Weston, Mass.)

Junior Prose

  • First place: “For Sale” by Xander Barton (Bath, Maine)
  • Second place: “The Feel” by Triston Hasty-Grant (Owasso, Okla.)
  • Third place: “The Rainy Day Buck” by Anson Kuznik (Brooklyn Park, Minn.)

Senior Prose

  • First place: “A Magical Spring Day” by Rachel Libke (Rogers, Minn.)
  • Second place: “Frozen Turkey Hunt” by Kyle Hansen (Millwood, Wash.)
  • Third place: “The Simple Lessons” by Kali Reginek (Rice, Minn.)

Winning entries from this year’s contest will be printed in theDecember/January issue of Outdoors Unlimited, OWAA’s official trade publication.

The deadline for next year’s entries is March 15, 2013.  For complete contest rules and more information, visit http://owaa.org/programs/contests/norm-strung-youth-writing-awards.

The Norm Strung Youth Writing Contest was named after Norm Strung, who served as OWAA president in 1984-1985.  Now deceased, Strung received OWAA’s Excellence in Craft award in 1989. In 1988, Strung was the Ham Brown recipient for service to OWAA. That same year, he organized and edited a book for OWAA titled “Selling the Outdoor Story.” He was also recognized as the Outstanding Board member in 1975.

Image courtesy Outdoor Writers Association of America