Illinois is currently the only state in the nation that does not allow concealed carry by law, but that may change soon.
According to The Southern Illinoisan, State Representative Brandon Phelps (D-Harrisburg) introduced the Family and Personal Protection Act to the Illinois legislature on Tuesday to allow residents the right to carry concealed handguns. This comes not long after a federal appeals court declared the state’s ban unconstitutional.
“Since taking office, I have constantly stood up for Illinois citizens’ right to bear arms and this year will be no different,” Phelps said. “With this added pressure from December’s federal appellate court’s ruling, I think we are the closest we have ever been, and I remain focused on ending the practice of punishing law-abiding citizens by denying them their right to concealed carry.”
If passed, the bill will allow permits to be purchased for $25 that are good for five years before they have to be renewed. Any such licenses will be subject to background checks and requires the permit holder to be at least 21 years old as well as possessing proof of firearms training and a FOID card. Public places such as government buildings and schools will remain closed to concealed carry unless specific permission is granted.
Although Illinois stands out as the only state with a personal carry ban by law, many other states have no-issue jurisdictions “in practice.” New Jersey, Maryland, and Hawaii are examples of such states.