The Department of Natural Resources’ Western Upper Peninsula Citizens’ Advisory Council (CAC) will meet in Gogebic County on Monday, Sept. 17, at Gogebic Community College in the Lindquist Student Center, located at E. 4946 Jackson Road, Ironwood.

Beginning at 4:30 p.m. Central Time (5:30 p.m. Eastern), DNR staff will present division reports on current DNR projects and business and answer questions from council members and the public. The council meeting will immediately follow from 5 to 7 p.m. CDT (6-8 p.m. EDT).

Agenda items include:

  • DNR presentation on Michigan Natural Resources Trust Fund
  • Update on DNR strategic planning process
  • Council discussion/follow-up on boundary waters muskie spearing
  • Public comment (for public comment instructions, see www.michigan.gov/upcac)

The Eastern Upper Peninsula and Western Upper Peninsula CACs are designed to advise the DNR on regional programs and policies; identify areas in which the department can be more effective and responsive; and offer insight and guidance from members’ own experiences and constituencies.

The council members represent a wide variety of natural resource and recreation stakeholders and interest groups. Agenda items are set by the council members, and council recommendations are forwarded to the DNR for consideration.

CAC meetings are open to the public. If you would like to be considered as a future CAC member, please fill out the nomination form found on the DNR website at www.michigan.gov/upcac. For more information, contact DNR Upper Peninsula Regional Coordinator Stacy Welling Haughey at 906-228-6561.

Logo courtesy Michigan Department of Natural Resources

What's Your Reaction?

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *