The Mule Deer Foundation (MDF) recognized a number of dedicated volunteers during the Western Hunting and Conservation Expo held in late February.

The 2012 Maggie Justice Conservation Legacy Award was presented to Jon Nestor, MDF Colorado State Chair, from Rifle, Colo.

MDF Chief Operating Officer Eric Tycksen said, “Recipients of the Maggie Justice Award are chosen by MDF staff each year, and this is our most prestigious honor. Jon has been a dedicated volunteer for the Mule Deer Foundation for 15 years. He’s given of his time, his money, and his personal resources to further our mission.”

MDF’s Youth Coordinator Jon Zinnel recognized Ryan Krapp for his ongoing efforts to safely introduce young people to shooting sports and wildlife conservation. Krapp received a 2012 M.U.L.E.Y. rifle signed by the USA Olympic Shooting Team. He and the Bismarck, N.D., Chapter previously received MDF’s President’s Award.

This award, as MDF President and CEO Miles Moretti likes to quip, “is simply an award I get to select and give out to recognize individuals or groups who I think have significantly impacted our mission.”

This year Moretti gave the President’s Award to the Great Basin Chapter in Elko, Nev. Chapter Chair Farley Hicks and his wife Linda accepted on the Chapter’s behalf. The Great Basin Chapter was also recognized for Highest Net Banquet (existing chapter), as well as Net Banquet Efficiency of 61.8 percent.

MDF also started a new tradition this year with the presentation of Volunteer Service Pins. Long-time volunteers Rich Fletcher, Alden Glidden and Judy Knapp were presented with 25 Year Service Pins.

Fletcher, who has served MDF in numerous capacities over the years, including a stint as CEO and President, now chairs the Livermore, Calif. chapter. This historic MDF group is holding their 23rd Annual Banquet on Friday, March 15, 2013. For ticket information contact Rich at 925-373-6601 or

Image courtesy Mule Deer Foundation

What's Your Reaction?

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *