Winner tops field of 57 anglers to take home $1,500 

Clayton Henson, of San Antonio, Texas, caught a redfish and speckled sea trout that measured a combined 51.75 inches in length to win the second event of the season for the IFA Kayak Fishing Tour presented by Hobie Fishing at Port Aransas, Texas, on April 14.

After fishing the IFA Kayak Tour for three years, the Port Aransas event marks Henson’s first IFA tournament win. The angler fished islands and drops for trout while concentrating on potholes and flats for redfish.

“The weather was great, no wind and good clarity,” said Henson. “I was done by 10 a.m. It was an awesome day and I’m very excited for the next event.”

Finishing a close second, James Juarez, of Corpus Christi, Texas, measured a total of 51.50 inches to take home the $1,000 second-place prize. The angler fished in the Laguna Madre area using top-water baits early and plastics later. This was Juarez’s first time competing in any IFA event.

“Overall, it was a great event,” said Juarez. “The weather was great and made for a lot of fun.”

Juarez added an extra $100 by winning the Berkley Big Trout award for his 27-inch trout.

Paul Martinez, winner of the 2012 IFA Kayak event in Port Aransas, measured a total of 50.88 inches to win the $500 third-place prize. Out of Corpus Christi, the angler fished around the Pita Island area, first with top-water baits then transitioning to plastic baits later in the day. The angler also won the $100 Berkley Big Redfish award for boating his 29.13-pound redfish.

Cody Phillips took sixth place and won the $200 Hobie Top Angler award for having the highest place finish for an angler competing in a Hobie Kayak.

The fastest-growing kayak fishing tournament trail in the country, the IFA Kayak Fishing Tour Presented by Hobie Fishing events are catch-photograph-release tournaments, offering inshore kayak anglers from a multitude of states the opportunity to participate in competitive fishing tournaments with low entry fees and minimal travel requirements.

IFA Kayak Texas Division

Port Aransas, Texas (Top 10)

  1. Clayton Henson – 51.75 inches
  2. James Juarez – 51.50 inches
  3. Paul Martinez – 50.88 inches
  4. Shane Okrashinski – 47.75 inches
  5. Cameron Barghi – 47.50 inches
  6. Cody Phillips – 45.25 inches
  7. Jeremy Carson – 44.50 inches
  8. Alexander Newell – 44.00 inches
  9. James Tesch – 43.75 inches
  10. Jason Paul – 43.50 inches

Image courtesy Blue Heron Communications

What's Your Reaction?

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *