McKean Named 2011 Carl Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the Year


Carl Zeiss Sports Optics has named Outdoor Life’s Andrew McKean winner of the 2011 Carl Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the Year Award.

The award was presented on January 16, 2012 at the company’s annual writers party during SHOT Show week in Las Vegas. In addition to receiving a plaque recognizing his contributions to the hunting and shooting sports, McKean also received the new ZEISS 30mm CONQUEST Duralyt 3-12×50 riflescope with illuminated reticle # 60.

“Andrew McKean is an extremely gifted writer whose passion for hunting and the outdoors is evident in his articles, blog postings and television appearances,” said Michael A. Jensen, President of Carl Zeiss Sports Optics. “He provides great tips and tactics for hunters while bringing attention to the importance of conservation and land management here in America. Andrew also has a deep understanding of optics and helps convey technical information to his readers in a way that is accurate and easy to understand.”

McKean lives in northeastern Montana’s Milk River Valley, where he hunts whitetails, mule deer, elk, antelope, upland birds, waterfowl and predators. He grew up hunting on his Missouri farm, and after college worked for newspapers and magazines in Montana and Washington. The former editor of Rocky Mountain Fishing & Hunting News, McKean is the author of Hunting the West and has won numerous regional and national awards for his writing.

Following his career with Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks, McKean joined Outdoor Life in 2006 as Hunting Editor. He also recently assumed the duties of Executive Editor while continuing to contribute various articles on hunting and conservation.

The father of three children, McKean is a hunter-education and bowhunter-education instructor and Cub Scout leader. He has hunted around the world with a rifle, shotgun and bow for big game, birds, predators and small game.

Established in 2003, the Carl Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the Year Award is in its ninth year. The previous winners are: Wayne van Zwoll (2003), David Fortier (2004), David Petzal (2005), Ron Spomer (2006), John Barsness (2007), Terry Wieland (2008), Craig Boddington (2009) and John Zent (2010). Carl Zeiss has also honored several writers with Lifetime Achievement Awards. These went to Bill McRae (2003) and Jim Carmichel (2008).

Read More