IMO’s Rodriguez Receives Nikon’s McMurchy Award


Nikon Sporting Optics recently presented Greg Rodriguez of Intermedia Outdoors with the Ian McMurchy Award, during the 2012 SHOT Show in Las Vegas. The award honors Rodriguez for his outstanding editorial coverage on the outdoors and his dedication to our hunting heritage and shooting sports.

Since 2010, Nikon Sport Optics has recognized an outdoor communicator who best follows in McMurchy’s footsteps of educating readers and helping them discover more enjoyment and success in their sport during the past year by providing them with the Ian McMurchy Award.

“The Ian McMurchy Award has become a prestigious award for Nikon and we take pride in selecting a well-deserving recipient each year,” said Jon LaCorte, senior product marketing manager for Nikon Sport Optics. “We believe that Greg exemplifies the high standards in outdoor communication and education that would make Ian proud. The relationship we have with outdoor communicators, such as Greg, is essential to our success.”

Ian McMurchy was a huge force in educating and entertaining shooters and hunters around the world while teaching them how to enjoy their passion even more. Rodriguez demonstrates that tradition through his work in publications such as Guns & Ammo, Petersen’s Hunting, Shooting Times, and many other popular outdoor magazines and Web sites, as well as his new television show A Rifleman’s Journal airing on the Sportsman’s Channel. Nikon is thrilled to present him with this year’s Ian McMurchy award.

“I am truly honored to have been selected to receive this award, said Rodriguez. “Ian was such a positive force in our industry and I hope that my work will continue to educate and entertain readers in manner that reflects Ian’s influence.”

In December of 2008, Ian passed away. Known as much for his shooting skill as his hunting ability, he loved every minute spent in the outdoors. Having introduced hundreds of people to shooting more accurately and hunting more successfully, Ian will be long remembered.

Past Ian McMurchy Award recipients:
2010-Scott Olmsted (NRA)
2011-Andrew McKean (Outdoor Life)

Read More