Sportsman Choice Award Winners Announced


Sportsman Channel, the leader in outdoor TV for the American Sportsman, is proud to announce the winners of the 2011 Sportsman Choice Awards, brought you in part by Zeiss Sports Optics. The winners were revealed last night amid 800 of their peers during Sportsman Channel’s annual awards ceremony at Pure Nightclub in Caesar’s Palace, Las Vegas, during the Shooting, Hunting, and Outdoor Trade (SHOT) Show.  Additionally, the network honored our nation’s veterans with the Sportsman of the Year award. The award was accepted by Tom Taylor of Honored American Veterans Afield on behalf of all our service men and women.

The voice of the American Sportsman was heard as viewers logged more than 140,000 votes to determine the award winners. The process began with Sportsman Channel producers narrowing the field to five finalists in seven categories, but the final say went to channel viewers, who had the opportunity to cast their votes over a three week period in December. All shows and show hosts airing on the network in 2011 were eligible. Winners received a custom-designed crystal award and joined the elite club of Sportsman Choice Award winners.

“It was an exciting and energetic evening spent with our producers, partners and guests during this annual celebration,” said Gavin Harvey, CEO of Sportsman Channel. “It is important for our shows, and their sponsors, to know Sportsman Channel fans voted specifically for them.”

“The Sportsman of the Year Award goes to all the veterans who have served and sacrificed, and then returned home to the outdoors.  Some of these heroes have appeared in outdoor TV shows, and many have not.  But they all came home to the great American outdoors to hunt, fish, and heal.  We are honored to offer this award to Tom Taylor and HAVA to accept on their behalf,” continued Harvey.

The winners are listed with the finalists below each category:

Best Hunt Show: Muddy’s Midwest Whitetail with Bill Winke – WINNER Hosted by Bill Winke, Produced by Midwest Whitetail Productions

BackCountry Quest TV

North American Whitetail

Pig Man: The Series

Territories Wild

Whitetail Properties

Best Shoot Show: Guns & Ammo– WINNER Hosted by Craig Boddington, Produced by InterMedia Outdoors

Davidson’s Galley of Guns


Personal Defense

Tac TV

Best Fish Show: In-Fisherman – WINNER Hosted by Doug Stange, Produced by InterMedia Outdoors

Addictive Fishing

Flats Class TV

Fly Fishing the World

One More Cast with Shaw Grigsby

Best Combination Show: Brotherhood Outdoors – WINNER Hosted by Tom Ackerman, Produced by Warm Springs Productions

Beau Knows Outdoors

Coming Home with Greg Stube

G3 Sportsman

Respect Outdoors

Full Draw Award: Heartland Bowhunter – WINNER Hosted by Michael Hunsucker, Produced by Mammoth Media

Arrow Affliction

Bowhunter TV

Easton Bowhunting

Muzzy Bad to the Bone Bowhunting

Best Show Host: Brian “Pig Man” Quaca with Pigman: The Series –  WINNER , Produced by Track Ten Productions

Chris and Casey Keefer – BackCountry Quest TV

Fred Eichler – Easton Bowhunting

Haley & G.O. Heath – Family Traditions

Stan Potts & Gordon Whittington – North American Whitetail

Best New Series: Hallowed Ground – WINNER Hosted by Joe Sir, Produced by Hallowed Ground Outdoors

A Hunter’s Life

Major League Bowhunter

Nock On TV

The Amateurs

Best Show Intro: The Bear Whisperer– WINNER Hosted by Blaine Anthony, Produced by Nature Productions

BackCountry Quest TV

Pig Man: The Series


The Fowl Life with Chad Belding

Animal of the Year: Whitetail Deer from Whitetail Properties – WINNER Hosted by Dan Perez, Produced by November Studios

A Hunter’s Life (Alaskan Bear)

Easton Bowhunting (Canadian Moose)

Solo Hunters (Big Horn Sheep)

The Zone (Mule Deer)

Fish of the Year: Northern Pike from BackCountry Quest TV  – WINNER Hosted by Chris and Casey Keefer. Produced by Rusted Rooster

Fly Rod Chronicles with Curtis Fleming (Peacock Bass)

In-Fisherman (Bull Redfish)

Brotherhood Outdoors (Montauk Stripers)

Fly Fishing the World (Shark)

Shot of the Year: Stone Sheep Shot from Christensen Outdoors – WINNER Hosted by John Mogle, Produced by Christensen Arms

G3 Sportsman (Double Turkey Shot)

High Country with Jason Matzinger (Backcountry Elk Shot)

Long Range Pursuit (Utah Bull Elk Shot)

Territories Wild (Woodland Caribou Shot)

Moment of the Year: Fighting Whitetail Bucks from Savage Outdoors – WINNER Hosted by Mike Stroff and Jammie Satterfield, Produced by Black River Productions

Africa with Craig Boddington and Ivan Carter (Cape Buffalo Charge)

Family Traditions with Haley Heath (Gunner’s First Deer)

On Your Own Adventures (Bull Elk Shot from Close Range)

Where in the World is Colorado Buck? (Casey’s Surprise Hunt)

Sportsman of the Year is presented to our nation’s veterans to commemorate the service and sacrifice they have given us. From our founding to the present, America has been tested time and again, and our democracy — and our love of liberty — has not only survived, but thrived. They exemplify the steadfast courage that demonstrates why our armed forces are second to none and the finest on the planet. Sportsman Channel has asked Tom Taylor, co-founder of Honored America Veterans Afield (HAVA), to accept the Sportsman of the Year award on behalf of our armed forces and our phenomenal veterans.

Read More