Also starting today at Fort Benning were the NRA Intercollegiate Rifle Club Championships. With the Pool outdoor range, site of the Smallbore Championships, packed with Free Pistol shooters, the rifle competitors could be found indoors shooting the Air Rifle Championship.

The United States Army Marksmanship Unit’s indoor range was large enough to accommodate every rifle shooter into one relay. No need to wait for additional relays to determine who won, once the cease fire was called the stat officers had all the scores they needed.

Last year’s individual champion, Michigan State’s Clayton Peck, was unable to get a repeat win on account of his brother, Amos, having the better aim this year. Amos’ 590 bested second place’s Tyler Luce, a fellow Spartan, by 13 and drew a crowd of finished shooters to watch the last few shots.

The brothers Peck, Luce and Steve Morey combined to shoot the highest team aggregate in air rifle and Michigan State became the 2012 air rifle champions with a 2,285 aggregate.

Tomorrow the rifle and pistol shooters will switch places as rifle goes outdoors to shoot the Smallbore Championship and pistol comes inside for Women’s Air Pistol.

Rifle scores below:

2012 Air Rifle Team Championship
1Michigan State2285
2Penn State2216
5Arkansas – Fort Smith2162
6Georgia Military College2147
9North Dakota State1999
10Indiana U of Penn1758


2012 Air Rifle Individual Championship
1Amos PeckMichigan State590
2Tyler LuceMichigan State577
3Abi WinegardenUNC-CH575
4Hoang VoUAFS572
5Anne SullivanMichigan570
6Clayton PeckMichigan State566
7Rebecca PiconePSU565
8Brandon GodboutNDSU562
9Kyle FreeleyPSU562
10Kevin TutenClemson562

photo: NRA Blog

What's Your Reaction?

[reactions id="30446"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *