The Matlock Racing ATV Race team of Wayne Matlock, Wes Miller and Josh Caster entered one of SCORE’s most grueling races, the 2012 San Felipe 250 on March 10, 2012. The team is coming off of their fourth consecutive championship in the ATV PRO CLASS and are determined to hold on to the #1A Plate.

The San Felipe 250 ran a 248.64-mile rugged course, running through two new areas and running in reverse of the normal course this race has followed in the past.

This year Matlock Racing changed bikes and left the larger motored, 4 wheel independent suspension of Honda TRX 700XX and went with the smaller lighter TRX 450.

The SCORE ATV Open Pro class (450 cc or more) featured 8 teams all with machines and riders capable of winning. The winning team, Motoworks/Can-Am/FOX Racing Shox featuring riders Josh Frederick and Dillion Zimmerman completed the course in 6:01:53 averaging 41.22 mph. The Matlock ATV race team finish 2nd in the Open Pro Quad class with a time of 6:12:17 and an average speed of 40.1 mph.

Matlock said, “No one made any mistakes. Everyone rode a really good race and we just got beat. That other team was just faster than us. We’ll come back for the 500, hopefully faster than them.”

Check out the video below of some the highlights from the 2012 SCORE San Felipe 250 ATV Race.

Official Race Results for PRO ATV

CLASS 25 (450cc or more)—1. Josh Frederick, Moapa, Nev./Dillon Zimmerman, Murrieta, Calif./Cesar Lopez, San Felipe, Mexico, Can-Am DS-450, 6:01:53 (41.22 mph); 2. Wayne Matlock/Josh Caster, El Cajon, Calif./Wes Miller, Los Angeles, Honda TRX450R, 6:12:17; 3. Rafael Torres, Damacio Maduena/Carlos Cansteneda/Felipe Torres, San Felipe, Mexico, Stefano Caputo, San Felipe, Mexico (Italy), Honda TRX450R, 6:15:43; 4. Juan Naranjo/Felipe Torres, San Felipe, Mexico/Manlio Diaz/Mario Beltran, La Paz, Mexico, Honda TRX450R, 6:18:28; 5. Brandon Brown, Umatilla, Ore./Jorie Williams, Longview, Wash./Kenny Sanford, Tacoma, Wash./Jamie Kirkpatrick, Olympia, Wash., Honda TRX450R, 6:33:20; 6. Craig Christy, Burbank, Calif./Dave Scott, Belen, N.M./Andy Lagzdins, Burbank, Calif./Cody Mitchell, Las Vegas, Honda TRX450R, 6:49:17; 7. Greg Row, Alpine, Calif./Travis Dillon, El Cajon, Calif./DJ Noen, Honda TRX450R, 7:17:04. (11 Starters, 7 Finishers)

CLASS 24 (450cc or less)—1. Rafael Torres/Juan Naranjo/Arnoldo Castaneda/Jose Meza, San Felipe, Mexico/Julio Lizarraga, Mexicali, Mexico, Honda TRX450R, 6:41:59 (37.11 mph); 2. Manuel Jimenez, San Felipe, Mexico/Aaron Hernandez, Mexicali, Mexico, Honda TRX250R, 6:43:40; 3. Oscar Ruiz/Roberto Ruiz, El Centro, Calif./Adan Arellano, Mexicali, Mexico, Honda TRX450R, 7:02:25; 4. Guillermo Berenquer/Rodolfo Navarro, Mexicali, Mexico, Honda TRX450R, 7:18:29; 5. Christian Anaya, Tecate, Mexico/Kelly Ramirez/Omar Aluarado, El Cajon, Calif./Marco Marrujo, Chula Vista, Calif., Honda TRX450R, 9:09:55; 6. Daniel Montano/Sergio Gonzales, San Diego/Trent Kendala, Gilbert, Ariz., Honda TRX450R, 9:26:59; 7. Edgar Barraza, Chula Vista, Calif./Jorge Martinez, Chula Vista, Calif., Honda TRX450R, 10:17:26; 8. Juan Guillen, Calexico, Calif./Christian Valles, Chula Vista, Calif./Daniel Salazar, Imperial Beach, Calif./Jose Contreras, Tecate, Calif., Yamaha 450F, 10:54:46. (9 Starters, 8 Finishers)

CLASS 26 (Limited, Utility)—1.  Joe Rice, Lomita, Calif./Fernando Avalos/Alejandro Avalos, Ensenada, Mexico, Can-Am Outlander800, 9:18:13 (26.73 mph). (2 Starters, 1 Finisher)


What's Your Reaction?

[reactions id="31054"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *