Juniors Set to Compete in Inaugural Junior World Cup in Germany


The International Shooting Sports Federation (ISSF) announced the inauguration of ISSF Junior Cups, a new Championship series featuring competitions for junior athletes in Olympic and Youth Olympic events. They are open to all junior competitors who are age 20 or younger during the competition year. The first all-discipline event (rifle, pistol and shotgun) will take place in Suhl, Germany May 26 – June 1.

Twenty five U.S. athletes and four staff will make their way to the inaugural Junior Cup Championship. Shotgun athletes were selected as the World Championship Junior Team at the Spring Selection Match back in March. The Rifle/Pistol team for the World Championship and remaining World Cups was named following the Selection Match in Fort Benning, Ga. that just finished yesterday and thus the Junior Team for this World Cup was selected by the coach. The shotgun team will be led by 2013 USA Shooting Coach of the Year Mike Simpson. Assistant National Team Pistol coach In Kim will lead the Pistol squad and 1992 Olympic gold medalist and Air Force head coach Launi Meili will lead the Rifle team.

“Suhl’s annual Junior International Shooting Competition (IWK) is already a well-established junior competition that has been held for many years; in 2013 this competition hosted 550 junior athletes from 40 nations” said ISSF Secretary General Franz Schreiber. “The Suhl Shooting Center is a great venue with many spectators and media support and it will be newly equipped with electronic targets in 2014. The ISSF looks forward to cooperating with the German Shooting Federation to launch the new ISSF Junior Cup series there.”

Junior World Cup Team

Athlete Event
Christian Elliott (Greenwood, Ind.) Men’s Skeet
Luis “Taz” Gloria (Tucson, Ariz.)
Phillip Jungman (Caldwell, Texas)
Dania Vizzi (Odessa, Fla.) Women’s Skeet
Hannah Houston (Columbia, Tenn.)
Sydney Carson (North Liberty, Ind.)
Austin Odom (Benton, Ark.) Men’s Trap
Garrett Beissner (Hondo, Texas)
Ryne Barfield (Poulan, Ga.)
Amber Cullwell (Rosebud, Ark.) Women’s Trap
Samantha Smith (Spring Hill, Tenn.)
Katlyn Lawson (Oakfield, Ga.)
Ian Rupert (Muncy, Pa.) Men’s Double Trap
Dale Royer (Jackson, Mont.)
Christian Wilkoski (Centerburg, Ohio)
Brian Kim (Los Angeles, Calif.) Air , Standard & Sport Pistol
Alex Chichkov (Temple Terrace, Fla.)
Lydia Paterson (Kansas City, Kan.) Women’s Air & Sport Pistol
Darian Shenk (Annville, Pa.)
Irina Andrianova (Schaumburg, Ill.)
Brian Kim (Los Angeles, Calif.) Rapid Fire Pistol
Alex Chichkov (Temple Terrace, Fla.) Free Pistol
Tim Sherry (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) Men’s Prone, Air  & 3P Rifle
Elizabeth Gratz (Sigel, Ill.) Women’s Prone, Air & 3P Rifle
Elizabeth Marsh (Searcy, Ark.)
Minden Miles (Weatherford, Texas)
Lauren Phillips (Seabeck, Wash.)
Read More