The Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies named its full slate of Officers and Executive Committee Members last week at AFWA’s Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri.

In addition to electing Larry Voyles, Arizona Game and Parks Department Director, as 2014-2015 AFWA President, Carter Smith, Executive Director of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, was named Vice President.

Smith’s appointment is one of several leadership actions that look place. Dave Chanda, Director of the New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, was named Chair of the Executive Committee and Nick Wiley, Executive Director of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, was elected to the Vice Chair position. Glen Normandeau, Executive Director of the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department, remains AFWA’s Secretary/Treasurer.

Upon the recommendations of AFWA’s Nominating Committee, the Executive Committee added Ed Carter, Executive Director of the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, and Marc Miller, Director of the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, as voting members to the roster.

Gordon Myers, Executive Director of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, will serve as an Ex Officio member representing the Southeast region.

2014-2015 Executive Committee


President: Larry Voyles, Arizona Game & Fish Department
Vice President: Carter Smith, Texas Parks & Wildlife Department
Secretary/Treasurer: Glenn Normandeau, New Hampshire Fish & Game Department
Past President: Dan Forster, Georgia Wildlife Resources Division

Executive Committee

Chair: Dave Chanda, New Jersey Division of Fish & Wildlife
Vice Chair: Nick Wiley, Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission


John Arway, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
Ed Carter, Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Jim Douglas, Nebraska Game & Parks Commission
Marc Miller, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
Virgil Moore, Idaho Department of Fish & Game
Bob Ziehmer, Missouri Department of Conservation

Ex Officio Voting Members

Canada: Mike Sullivan, New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources & Environment
Midwest: Keith Creagh, Michigan Department of Natural Resources
Northeast: Patty Riexinger, New York Department of Environmental Conservation
Southeast: Gordon Myers, North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
Western: Terry Steinwand, North Dakota Game & Fish Department

Over the past century, AFWA has emerged as a powerful, effective and collective voice for fish and wildlife conservation. The association consists of fish and wildlife agencies from all 50 states along with more than 100 representatives from territorial, provincial and federal fish and wildlife agencies, the conservation community and sportsmen industries.

The Association’s members and partners work together toward achieving AFWA’s vision of healthy fish and wildlife resources throughout North America managed by effective, well-funded fish and wildlife agencies and supported by informed and involved citizens.


Laura MacLean
Communications Director
Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies
202/ 624-7744
Twitter @fishwildlife

Logo courtesy Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies

What's Your Reaction?

[reactions id="395659"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *