Dungey Makes it Three in a Row with Budds Creek Win


Mechanicsville, MD – Red Bull/KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey increased his win streak to three in a row after winning both motos at the fifth round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Series held at Budds Creek MX Park.

Dungey earned the fastest qualifying time in the morning practice sessions, turning a lap time 2 seconds faster than the next closest competitor. Dungey carried that momentum into the first moto where he got off to a great start and an early lead. Dungey was able to lead every lap of the first moto to go on to take the win by 43 seconds.

“I felt very comfortable on this track and was able to pull away early and just focus on my own race,” commented Dungey after the first moto.

In the second moto, Dungey garnered a 2nd place start behind Mike Alessi. He trailed Alessi for the first few laps before making a pass to take over the lead. Once out front, he was easily able to check out and take the second moto win. His 1-1 moto finishes earned him his third consecutive 450 Motocross class win for the season.

Now five rounds into the series, Dungey maintains the red number plate and a 54 point lead in the series point standings.

Next Race: July 7, 2012 – Red Bud

Overall Race Results 450 Motocross Class –

  1. Ryan Dungey – KTM (1-1)
  2. Broc Tickle – (2-2)
  3. Mike Alessi – (4-3)
  4. Jake Weimer – (3-4)
  5. Justin Brayton – (5-8)
  6. Brett Metcalfe – (8-6)
  7. Josh Grant – (10-5)
  8. Davi Millsaps – (9-7)
  9. Andrew Short – (6-10)
  10. Ryan Sipes – (7-11)
Read More