AMA Pro ATV points leaders Chad Wienen and John Natalie pushed  the title chase all the way to the season finale. Wienen and Natalie split moto-wins at the penultimate round of the 2012 AMA ATV Motocross Series at RedBud MX in Buchanan, Michigan. Wienen outlasted the field of riders including the defending champion in the two-moto-format, taking the overall win and increasing his points lead of Natalie with one round remaining.

Wienen grabbed another Fastest Qualifier Award with a 2:10.9 time. In Moto 1, it was Motoworks/Can-Am’s John Natalie who took the SSiDecals Holeshot Award. John Natalie dominated Moto 1 earning himself the victory. Chad Wienen dropped back in the field in Moto 1 but fought hard late in the race to earn third.

In Moto 2, Baldwin Motorsports/PEP/Maxxis’ Josh Upperman grabbed the SSiDecals Holeshot Award and took an early lead over Thomas Brown, Chad Wienen and Josh Creamer.  John Natalie crashed on the first corner of the first lap and was forced to battle hard to come back.

“The track was pretty rough today but my goal was to ride smart, patient and not over ride the machine and I think we accomplished those things today,” Wienen said.

Chad Wienen eked out a win over Josh Upperman and sealed his weekend win.

Natalie made his way back sixth place in Moto 2 after getting hung up in a first corner crash. His Moto 1 victory was enough for third place overall. Natalie’s third gave him enough points to remain in the championship hunt with one round remaining.

The 2012 AMA ATV Motocross Championship heads to the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. August 11 and 12 for the final round of racing. For more information, please visit

AMA Pro ATV Results

Chad Wienen, Yamaha, (2-1)

Josh Upperman, Honda, (4-2)

John Natalie, Can-Am, (1-6)

Thomas Brown, Yamaha, (3-4)

Joel Hetrick, Can-Am, (6-3)

Josh Creamer, Can-Am, (5-5)

Derek Swartfager, Honda, (7-8)

Adam Clark, Honda, (8-9)

Harold Goodman, Honda, (9-10)

Mark Madl, Honda, (14-7)

AMA ATV Motocross Championship Pro Point Standings

Chad Wienen, Yamaha – 421

John Natalie, Can-Am- 385

Joel Hetrick, Can-Am – 341

Josh Upperman, Honda – 326

Thomas Brown, Yamaha – 314

Derek Swartfager, Honda – 224

Adam Clark, Honda – 213

Mark Madl, Honda – 205

Jeff Rastrelli, Suzuki – 196

Harold Goodman, Honda – 183


What's Your Reaction?

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry