Some wildlife management areas in southwestern North Dakota now have the same camping restrictions adopted earlier this spring on similar public lands along Lake Sakakawea.

The State Game and Fish Department has now included the following WMAs where overnight camping is prohibited on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, except holidays: North Lemmon Lake in Adams County; Bull Creek in Billings County; Alkali Creek and Spring Creek in Bowman County; Killdeer Mountains in Dunn County; Camels Hump Lake in Golden Valley County; Indian Creek in Hettinger County; Storm Creek in Morton County; and Cedar Lake and Speck Davis Pond in Slope County.

In April, the Game and Fish Department applied the same restrictions on the following WMAs along Lake Sakakawea: Audubon, Custer Mine, Deepwater Creek, deTrobriand, Douglas Creek and Wolf Creek in McLean County; and Beaver Creek and Hille in Mercer County.

In addition, camping is not allowed at all, including holidays, at the following WMAs: Antelope Creek, Big Oxbow, Lewis and Clark, Neu’s Point, Ochs Point, Overlook, Sullivan and Tobacco Garden in McKenzie County; Van Hook in Mountrail County; and Hofflund and Trenton in Williams County.

Camping restrictions at all WMAs are posted at entry points.

Other WMA use regulations are available on the Game and Fish website,

Logo courtesy of the North Dakota Game and Fish Department

What's Your Reaction?

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *