More than 360 archers competed in the North Dakota National Archery in the Schools Program state tournament April 12-13 in Bismarck.

Jeff Long, NASP coordinator for the State Game and Fish Department, said the event continues to grow every year. “This year’s turnout was outstanding, especially considering we were on the verge of a nasty storm that hit statewide,” Long said, while noting the number of participants (362) was up 9 percent from last year.

The high school (grades 9-12) state championship team was from Griggs County Central, the middle school (grades 7-8) champs were from Hankinson and taking top honors in the elementary school (grades 4-6) division was Barnes County North.

Overall male and female winners were Spencer Brockman of North Sargent and Lauren Moser of Medina.

The top three place winners in each division were:

High school boys – Brockman; James Nadeau, Dunseith; and Alex Irlmeier, Medina.

High school girls – Lisa Buckhaus, Hankinson; Hunter Schroeder, Dunseith; and Ashley Brockman, North Sargent.

Middle school boys – Race Kath, Hankinson; Logan Kensok, Griggs County Central; and Eric Horner, St. Mary’s.

Middle school girls – Moser; Kate Loewen, Hankinson; and Hannah Willson, Barnes County North.

Elementary boys – Dawson McKeever, North Sargent; Ryan Zastoupil, Killdeer; and Andrew Lehman, Hankinson.

Elementary girls – Desi Parsons, Griggs County Central; Hope Willson, Barnes County North; and Alicia Biewer, Hankinson.

Logo courtesy North Dakota Game and Fish Department

What's Your Reaction?

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *