Trent Christiancy of the Young Guns 4-H trap club in Franklin won the junior high division at the 44th Cornhusker Trapshoot on Thursday at the home grounds of the Nebraska Trapshooting Association.

Christiancy broke 98 of 100 targets at 16 yards to win the title.

The Blair I squad of Billy Miller, Weston Zolck, Timmy Bennett, Nate Peleska and Jake Kavanaugh broke 429 of 500 targets for the team championship.

A record 888 junior high shooters competed Thursday.

“We had a super day after a terrible day weather-wise on Wednesday setting up,” shoot director Terry Brentzel said. “We had good scores and some good, healthy competition, and things ran extremely well.”

Approximately 1,500 senior high students are expected to shoot 75 16-yard targets Friday. They will shoot 75 handicap targets Saturday, and the combined scores of the two days will determine the overall champion, the Cornhusker Cup winner.

One former Cornhusker Cup champion is in the senior high field: Cody Newlun of Hastings 4-H. The 2011 overall champion placed second individually last year.

Last year’s highest-scoring girl, Cory Sorahan of Grand Island, also returns. She placed second in both 16 yards and handicap in 2012.

The junior high results are:

Top 10 Individuals 1. Trent Christiancy, Young Guns 4-H, 98 out of 100; 2. Tanner Knight, Karp and Krow 4-H, 95; 3. Billy Miller, Blair, 95; 4. Tyler O’Connor, Fillmore 4-H, 95; 5. Kody Mans, Republican Valley 4-H, 95; 6. Garrett Whitley, Fillmore 4-H, 95; 7. Gus Delatour, Garden County 4-H, 94; 8. Sam Keller, Lincoln Scott Middle School, 93; 9. Dylan Osterhaus, Norris, 93; 10. Jerod Christensen, Russell Middle School, Millard, 92

Top Three Individual Girls – 1. Jade Krolikowski, Centura, 91; 2. Justine Cherovsky, Wahoo Bishop Neumann, 90; 3. Bailey Gasseling, Lincoln Scott Middle School, 89

Top Three 4-H Teams – 1. Karp and Krow (Reggie McKenney, Landon Rogers, Tanner Knight, Colby Mitchell, Tyler Sheldon), 451 of 500; 2. Platte Valley II, 427; 3. Fillmore I, 418

Top Three Girls Teams – 1. Ord I (Shelby Kittle, Hailey Zulkoski, Macee Alexander, Jenessa Grooms, Codi Lannigan), 383; 2. Lincoln Scott Middle School Pink, 378; 3. Louisville I, 334

Top Six Teams – 1. Blair I (Billy Miller, Weston Zolck, Timmy Bennett, Nate Peleska, Jake Kavanaugh), 429; 2. Lincoln Scott Middle School Gold, 425; 3. Sutton I, 420; 4. Norris I, 417; 5. Gibbon I, 414; 6. North Platte Adams Middle School Blue, 411

Ducks Unlimited Top Three Greenwings – Boys: 1. Jerod Christensen, Russell, 46 of 100; 2. Connor Johnson, Norris, 45; 3. Josh Seamans, Lincoln Scott Middle School, 45; Girls: 1. Justine Cherovsky, Wahoo Bishop Neumann, 47; 2. Jade Kolikowski, Centura, 47; 3. Bailey Gasseling, Lincoln Scott Middle School, 45; 4. Rebecca Svoboda, Western Nebraska 4-H, 44

Logo courtesy Nebraska Games & Parks Commission

What's Your Reaction?

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *