The New Mexico Game Commission will hear several proposals from the Department of Game and Fish involving wildlife management and conservation during its meeting Thursday, April 5, in Gallup.

Thursday’s meeting will be from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the Council Chamber of Gallup City Hall, 110 W. Aztec Ave., in Gallup. The full agenda, detailed agenda-item briefings and other information are available on the Department of Game and Fish website,, or by calling (505) 476-8008. Details of proposed rules and opportunities to comment about them also are available on the website.

Agenda items include:

  • Proposed amendments to the Bear and Cougar Rule to separate depredation and road kills from hunting harvest limits, modify bear zones, extend Valle Vidal spring bear season to May 15, increase cougar season to yearlong statewide and increase the cougar bag limit to two adult cougars. The amendments are not expected to increase total bear and cougar mortalities compared to previous years. An additional amendment would modify cougar management objectives to protect the Dry Cimarron bighorn sheep herd.
  • Proposed amendments to the Antelope Private Land Use System and Pronghorn Antelope rules to address implementation concerns and adjust deadlines to the system used to allocate antelope hunting authorizations to private landowners.
  • Proposed amendments to the Bighorn Sheep Rule to add two enhancement licenses approved by the 2012 Legislature, and to adjust license numbers to reflect changes in bighorn sheep populations.
  • A proposal to reorganize Department of Game and Fish staff and divisions to more efficiently address Department business needs and customer service.

State Game Commission meetings are broadcast live over the Internet and can be accessed from Gov. Susana Martinez’s website, Information about how to view the streaming video is available on the website.

The State Game Commission is composed of seven members who represent the state’s diverse interests in wildlife-associated recreation and conservation. Members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state Senate. Current members are Chairman Jim McClintic, Vice-chairman Thomas “Dick” Salopek, Tom Arvas, Bill Montoya, Scott Bidegain, Paul M. Kienzle and Robert Espinoza Sr.

What's Your Reaction?

[reactions id="35354"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *