If you’re 14 to 17 years old, you might not have to pay as much to fish or hunt in Utah next year.
And, no matter your age, if you enjoy fishing with two fishing poles, you might not have to pay for that extra privilege at all.
On Aug. 22, the Utah Wildlife Board approved several fishing and hunting license changes. If the Utah Legislature approves the changes during its 2014 session, the changes would likely go into effect July 1, 2014.
Kenny Johnson, Administrative Services Section chief for the Division of Wildlife Resources, says the changes will save the families of young anglers and hunters some money. “The changes will also provide us with the funding we need to continue providing quality fishing and hunting opportunities despite the rising cost of doing business,” he says.
The following are among the license changes the board approved for Utah residents:
• If you’re 18 to 64 years old, you might have to pay more for a fishing, hunting or combination license in 2014. But if you enjoy fishing with two fishing poles, the overall cost to fish would actually go down.
The board approved a proposal to increase the cost of a fishing or hunting license from $26 to $34. A combination license, which allows the holder to fish and hunt, would increase from $30 to $38.
The board also approved a proposal that would allow anyone with a Utah fishing or combination license to fish with two poles at no extra cost.
Right now, a two-pole permit costs $15.
If approved by the legislature, the increases would be the first fishing and hunting license fee increases in Utah since 2003.
- The increased cost for a combination license would not affect those 65 years of age or older. Instead of paying $38 for a combination license, senior citizens could get one for $29.
- If you’re 14 to 17 years of age, you could buy a 365-day fishing or hunting license at a discounted rate. Instead of paying $34 for a license, those between 14 and 17 years of age could buy a license for $16.
- Young anglers and hunters could also buy a combination license for a reduced rate. Instead of paying $38 for a combination license, those 14 to 17 years of age could get one for $20.
- If you want the ease and convenience of not having to buy a fishing, hunting or combination license every year, a multi-year license might be the answer.
The board approved a proposal that would allow anglers and hunters to buy licenses that are valid for two, three, four or five years.
A multi-year fishing or hunting license would cost $33 for every year the license covered. For example, if you bought a two-year fishing license, the license would cost $66.
A multi-year combination license would also be available for $37 a year. Just like a regular fishing or hunting license, you could buy a license that was valid for two, three, four or five years.
Logo courtesy Utah Division of Wildlife Resources