House to vote Wednesday on passage of nation’s most important agricultural law; conference committee report includes top priorities for sportsmen-conservationists

Last night, the joint Senate-House conference committee reached agreement on a Farm Bill that will be voted upon by the U.S. House of Representatives tomorrow, Jan. 29.

The House bill includes key sportsmen’s priorities including the linkage of conservation compliance with the federal crop insurance program and a “Sodsaver” provision aimed at conserving intact prairie ecosystems.

While the bill’s passage is not guaranteed, a positive House vote should result in the Senate considering the measure in short order, thereby clearing the way for the president’s signature.

Over the past two-plus years that Congress has been debating its reauthorization, the 2008 Farm Bill has expired, been extended and expired again. But at long last, the bill appears to be close to completion. This afternoon, join policy experts who can explain the significance of the House’s recent actions, how they will influence the Farm Bill’s passage into law, and why this bill is crucially important to sportsmen, fish and wildlife, and the nation’s outdoors-focused economy.

Who:

When: Tuesday, Jan. 28, at 4 p.m. EST/3 p.m. CST/2 p.m. MST/1 p.m. PST

To join, call 800-311-9403 and enter access code “175716.”

RSVP to Katie McKalip at kmckalip@trcp.org or 406-240-9262.

Logo courtesy Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership

What's Your Reaction?

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *