FLW College Fishing is headed to Toledo Bend Feb. 15 for the first Southern Conference tournament of the season. Up to 50 college teams will be competing for a top award of $2,000 and a berth in the 2014 Southern Conference Invitational.

“Toledo Bend is my favorite tournament lake,” said Kellogg’s pro Jim Tutt. “I like it because it has a mixture of cover. If you want to fish shallow you can do that, if want to fish hydrilla you can do that, if you want to fish standing timber you can do that. More importantly, it’s a really big lake with a lot of standing timber. You can run and get away from people.”

The long-time Texas resident was effusive in his praise of the lake and predicted that the winning bag could come from anywhere between the dam and the extreme north end. He said that unless there was a very hard north wind, the field could spread out and find success anywhere.

“Toledo Bend probably has the best grass that it has had in years and years,” said Tutt. “The Rat-L-Trap bite will be phenomenal – the grass is just the right depth now. The competitors will need to look for the little drains and ditches near flats that lead to spawning areas. Umbrella rigs or slow rolling a big spinnerbait could produce too.

“I’d say it will take over 25 pounds to win,” finished Tutt. “This is just a great time of year to be on Toledo Bend.”

Anglers will take off from San Miguel Park located at 381 San Miguel Road in Zwolle, La., at 7:00 a.m. Weigh-in will be held at San Miguel Park starting at 3:00 p.m. on Saturday. Takeoff and weigh-in is free and open to the public.

Schools competing in the Toledo Bend tournament, which is hosted by the Sabine River Authority, include:

  •     Angelo State – Logan Clark and Matthew Freeman, both of San Angelo, Texas
  •     Arkansas State University – Tyler Gaskin, Wynne, Ark., and Dail Baldwin, Jonesboro, Ark.
  •     Baylor University – Denver Lawless, McGregor, Texas, and Reid Carlisle, Waco, Texas
  •     Baylor University – Tyler Torwick, Waco, Texas, and Connor Case, Plano, Texas
  •     Colorado State University – Michael Harpell and Chris Sabina, both of Fort Collins, Col.
  •     East Central University – Tanner Masters and Wyatt Ryan, both of Ada, Okla.
  •     Henderson State – Theron Asbery, Grove, Okla., and William Stone, Arkadelphia, Ark.
  •     Lamar University – Brandon Simoneaux, Bridge City, Texas, and Josh Bowie, Port Neches, Texas
  •     Lamar University – Quinton Evans, Orange, Texas, and Colby Ogden, Kountze, Texas
  •     Louisiana Tech University – Matthew Loetscher, Many, La., and Caleb Boudreaux, Doyline, La.
  •     Louisiana Tech University – Zachary Sparish, Ruston, La., and Brandon Greco, Shreveport, La.
  •     LSU-Shreveport – James Avant, Shreveport, La., and Jared Rascoe, Stonewall, La.
  •     LSU-Shreveport – J.L. Sepulvado, Zwolle, La., and David Hartzo, Shreveport, La.
  •     New Mexico State University – Nicholas Dicamillo, Las Cruces, N.M., and Jesse Wilkinson, Rio Rancho, N.M.
  •     New Mexico State University – Tanner Cooper and Memo Nunez, both from Las Cruces, N.M.
  •     Nicholls State University – Cameron Naquin, Gray, La., and Colby Pujol, Napoleonville, La.
  •     Nicholls State University – Matthew Waguespack and Tyler Rivet, both from Raceland, La.
  •     Nicholls State University – Trevor Leblanc and Jess Robertson, both from Houma, La.
  •     Northwestern State – John Ledet, Natchitoches, La., and Justin Cooper, Pelican, La.
  •     Northwestern State – Pete Gentry and Nicholas Ezernack, both of Many, La.
  •     Northwestern State – Robert Lafitte, Many, La., and Christian Hamous, Robeline, La.
  •     Oklahoma State University – Jacob Fish, Stillwater, Okla., and Michael Hall, Inola, Okla.
  •     Sam Houston State – Robert Laskoskie, Kemah, Texas, and Jared Pruitt, Crowley, Texas
  •     Southern Arkansas University – Melissa Day and Kevin Roberts, both of Magnolia, Ark.
  •     Tarleton State-Stephenville – Hunter Edwards, Breckenridge, Texas, and Marshall Hughes, Port Neches, Texas
  •     Tarleton State-Stephenville – Kehl Robbins, Stephenville, Texas, and Austin Brown, Pearland, Texas
  •     Tarleton State-Stephenville – Robert Ramsey, Missouri City, Texas, and James McCaleb, Stephenville, Texas
  •     Texas A&M-Kingsville – Cody Garrett, Kingsville, Texas, and Evan Blott, Tomball, Texas
  •     Texas A&M – Josh Bensema, Willis, Texas, and Vann Millican, College Station, Texas
  •     Texas A&M – Reid O’Conner, Cypress, Texas, and Tyler Bradfield, College Station, Texas
  •     Texas A&M – Zachary Wymer, Southlake, Texas, and Cole Temple, College Station, Texas
  •     Texas A&M-Corpus Christi – Logan Jones and Dereck Mangold, both of Corpus Christi, Texas
  •     Texas Christian University – Austin Tucker and Dustin Jones, both of Fort Worth, Texas
  •     Texas Christian University – Joseph Sanderson, Austin, Texas, and David Nicholson, La Vernia, Texas
  •     Texas State University – Andrew Jackson and Justin Chambers, both of San Marcos, Texas
  •     Texas Tech University – Joseph Smith and Harrison Ford, both of Lubbock, Texas
  •     University of Louisiana-Lafayette – Joshua Clark, Merryville, La., and Eric Fusilier, Ville Platte, La.
  •     University of Louisiana-Lafayette – Ry Savory, Saint Martinsville, La., and Dustin Robichaux, Lafayette, La.
  •     University of Louisiana-Lafayette – Zachary Dubois, Kaplan, La., and Colby Drago, Livonia, La.
  •     University of Louisiana-Monroe – Blake Alford and Tyler Stewart, both of West Monroe, La.
  •     University of Louisiana-Monroe – Jackson Blackety, Monroe, La., and Tyler Craig, Frierson, La.
  •     University of Louisiana-Monroe – Nick Ladart and Brian Eaton, both of Monroe, La.
  •     University of Arkansas-Monticello – Michael Leppert, Minden, La., and Ryan Crowley, Monticello, Ark.
  •     University of Arkansas-Monticello – Richard Harris and Timothy Smith, both of Monticello, Ark.
  •     University of Arkansas – Ben Dubois, Fayetteville, Ark., and Keeton Villines, Huntsville, Ark.
  •     University of Colorado-Colorado Springs – Justin Solverson and Peter Decker, both of Colorado Springs, Col.
  •     University of North Texas – Andrew Golden and Branden Barnett, both of Denton, Texas
  •     University of Oklahoma – Jonathan Haines, Tulsa, Okla., and Alex Edgeman, The Woodlands, Texas
  •     University of Oklahoma – Joseph Hatton and Samuel Crabtree, both of Norman, Okla.

FLW College Fishing teams compete in three qualifying events in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top 15 teams from each regular-season tournament will qualify for one of five conference invitational tournaments. The top 10 teams from each conference invitational tournament will advance to the 2015 FLW College Fishing National Championship.

College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time undergraduate students at a four-year college or university and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.

For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow College Fishing on Facebook at Facebook.com/FLWFishing and on Twitter at Twitter.com/FLWFishing. Visit CollegeFishing.com to sign up or to start a club at your school.

Logo courtesy FLW Outdoors

What's Your Reaction?

[reactions id="363118"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *