The Quality Deer Management Association (QDMA) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2014 Conservation and Branch Achievement awards. The honorees were first unveiled at the 2014 QDMA National Convention in Athens, Georgia, July 24-27.

Each year, QDMA accepts nominations for its Conservation awards, and it honors a number of people and groups for achievements in whitetail conservation and management. This year’s winners are:

2014 QDMA Conservation Awards:

  • Joe Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award: Judge Holdford of North Carolina
  • QDMA Ambassador Award: Chip West of Delaware
  • Al Brothers Deer Manager of the Year: Paul Knox of Iowa
  • Al Brothers Professional Deer Manager of the Year: Vic Blanchard of Louisiana
  • Agency of the Year: Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation
  • Wildlife Officer of the Year: Eddie Monts of South Carolina
  • Signpost Communicator of the Year: Mark Kenyon of Wired To Hunt
  • Hunting Heritage Award – Individual: Michael Goyne of Michigan
  • Hunting Heritage Award – Corporate: W.C. Bradley Co.
  • Rack Pack Four-Point Award: Grace Adkins of North Carolina

The Branch Achievement awards recognize outstanding volunteers who have achieved success at a very high level. This year’s winners are:

2014 QDMA Branch Achievement Awards:

  • Branch of the Year: Prairie to Woods Whitetails Branch of Minnesota
  • Branch President of the Year: Mike Edwards of the Greater Rochester Southern Tier Branch in New York
  • Volunteer of the Year: Darren Boudreaux of the Louisiana Advisory Council
  • Event of the Year: East Central Ohio Branch Field Day
  • Sponsor Membership Branch of the Year: Mid-Carolina Branch of South Carolina
  • Membership Branch of the Year: Bayou Branch of Louisiana
  • New Branch of the Year: Northern Jack Pine Branch of Michigan

Additionally this year, QDMA held its first-ever Outdoorsman’s Challenge, the Hunter Games, which tested participants’ skills in a variety of outdoor events including ground blind setup, fishing, waterfowl identification, buck aging, tree stand safety, trapping, marksmanship, hunting, archery and survival.

2014 Hunter Games Winners:

  • Adult Age Group Winner: Ben Fleischacker of Nebraska
  • Youth Winner: Katelyn Sette of West Virginia

To view photos and learn more about each award and the award winners, click here.

Logo courtesy Quality Deer Management Association

What's Your Reaction?

[reactions id="388423"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *