The NRA Foundation is proud to announce the 15 beneficiaries of the Oregon Friends of NRA 2014 Youth Scholarship Program. Each high-achieving high school senior will receive a $1,000 scholarship to pursue higher education.

“It is an honor to see these youth learn about our Second Amendment through this program and to see them develop an apprecia¬tion for the freedoms it allows,” Katie Jones, chair of Douglas County Friends of NRA, said about the recently awarded scholarships. “I honestly believe ed-ucating youth today is the best way to protect these rights for future generations of Americans to enjoy.”

Scholarships are distributed through the Oregon Friends of NRA Scholarship Commit¬tee, a subcommittee formed in 2012 by the Oregon State Fund Committee. In its inaugural year, the Youth Scholarship Program issued five $1,000 scholarships and has shown promising growth each year.

“The Oregon State Fund Committee, which I had the honor to chair for the past 10 years, feels very strongly about investing in our youth,” notes Schol¬arship Committee Chair Maurizio Valerio. “We are very excited to sponsor our Oregon Friends of NRA Scholarship program, and we are honored to direct some of the funds raised in our state toward this wor¬thy cause.”


Benjamin Barnes, Jr. – Oakland, OR
Katie Birkmaier – Enterprise, OR
Cheyenne Camara – Prineville, OR
Max Hane – Roseburg, OR
Lukas Huggins — Baker City, OR
Hannah Mabbott – Hermiston, OR
Jacob Murstig – Echo, OR
Katielynn Parret – Riddle, OR
Natalie Scotto – Hermiston, OR
Sandra Shelton — Central Point, OR
Emily Spang – Wallowa, OR
Sarah Spaugh — Baker City, OR
Brian Staebler-Siewell — Baker City, OR
Robert Stewart – Tigard, OR
Morgan Waters – Wallowa, OR


Kyle Jillson,; (703) 267-1595

Logo courtesy National Rifle Association

What's Your Reaction?

[reactions id="398363"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *